Wednesday 08th February 2023,
Radio Metta

CBC honoured for reporting excellence at Atlantic Journalism Awards 2015

Saheli May 8, 2016 News Comments Off on CBC honoured for reporting excellence at Atlantic Journalism Awards 2015

CBC Nova Scotia's Norma Lee MacLeod was the Lifetime Achievement winner at the Atlantic Journalism Awards 2015.

CBC reporters from across the Atlantic place have been recognized for reporting excellence on the 2015 Atlantic Journalism Awards held Saturday night in Halifax.

winning gold for excellent radio newscast was CBC Nova Scotia’s first radio newscast following the crashtouchdown of Flight AC624, an Air Canada flight from Toronto to Halifax. The CBC newscast aired at 6:30 a.m. and turned into a compilation of first-hand accounts from newshounds at the scene, passengers on board and airport officers.

Angela MacIvor’s work on a crisis in rape investment in Nova Scotia took gold for organization Reporting: Radio. CBC swept this class with Erin Moore of CBC Nova Scotia taking domestic silver for her piece on Debra Spencer’s deportation to the Caribbean island of St. Vincent and Robert Jones of CBC New Brunswickalso presented silver for his tale Overbilled.

Halifax reporter Brett Ruskin picked up awards. One silver for his body of labor within the Video Journalist:television category and a silver inside the Breaking information-Spot information: tv category for hiswork with international Halifax, whilst he helped expectant mothers in a snowstorm.

other CBC winners identified at the gala held at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront resort consist of:

Breaking news Radio

Gold: Robert Jones, CBC N.B. for the Oland Verdict
Silver: Jessica Doria-Brown, CBC P.E.I. for Barber shop hearth

organisation Reporting: television

Gold: Ariana Kelland, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador for problem behind Bars
Silver: Rob Antle CBC Newfoundland and Labrador for Blind accept as true with and Shane Rockland Fowler, CBC N.B. for Glyphosate Sprayings

characteristic Writing: Radio

Gold: Gavin Simms, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador for Shadows of My thoughts
Silver: Pauline Dakin, CBC N.S. for Rural Reckoning: The Come-From-Away Investor and Vanessa Blanch, CBC N.B. for answer back, Brother

function Writing: television

Silver: Serge Bouchard, Radio-Canada Acadie N.B. for Le Bonheur Retrouvé de Gino Sélesse

enterprise Reporting: Any Medium

Silver: Adam Walsh, Paul Pickett and Philippe Grenier, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador for China: the seal hunt’s ultimate desire?

Video Journalist: tv

Gold: Philippe Grenier, Radio-Canada Acadie Newfoundland and Labrador for his frame of labor
Silver: Laura Meader, CBC P.E.I. for her body of work

best Multimedia function

Gold: Nicolas Steinbach and Philippe Duclos, Radio-Canada Acadie N.B. for Toujours Haiti

exceptional records news Radio program (selected program)

Gold: facts Morning, CBC N.B., Fredericton
Silver: St. John’s Morning show, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador and Island Morning, CBC P.E.I.

satisfactory tv news Broadcast (same Date Newscast)

Gold: Compass, CBC P.E.I.
Silver: New Brunswick at 6, CBC N.B.

The Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award

Silver: Laura Howells, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador for a show of work

The night also paid tribute to Norma Lee MacLeod of CBC N.S. with a life-time fulfillment Award.

Mohamed Fahmy, the Egyptian-born Canadian journalist, who changed into wrongly arrested and spent a 12 months in a jail in Egypt, was visitor speaker.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author